VMEA Leadership

VMEA Staff

VMEA State ExecutiveAllen Hall
4421 Stillmeadows Rd. Montpelier, VA 23192vmeaoffice@gmail.com
VMEA AttorneyBret Zwerdling
5020 Monument Avenue
Richmond, 23230
Editor, VMEA NotesMerry Beth Hall
14421 Stillmeadows Rd.
Montpelier, VA 23192
vmeanotesed@gmail.com
Conference Exhibits Coord.Justin Ratcliff
Conference CoordinatorVacant
Performance Conference CoordinatorMichael Ehrlich
10088 Daniels Run Way
Fairfax, VA 23030
vmeaperf@gmail.com

VMEA Officers

PresidentAnnamarie Bollino
31 Stafford Avenue Stafford, VA 22554bollinoa@staffordschools.net
SecretaryJenny Ryan
9915 Groundhog Drive North Chesterfield, VA 23235jennifer_ryan@ccpsnet.net
VCDA PresidentDana Vanslyke
VAMHE PresidentSandy Goldie
Vice-PresidentJohn Brewington
600 Runnymeade Ct. Va Beach, VA 23542John.brewington@VBSchools.com
TreasurerDoug Martin
607 Malcolm Place
Alexandria, VA 22302
treasurer@vmea.com
VEMEA PresidentKimberly Upshaw
VMEA President-ElectAlice Hammel
3131 East Weyburn Road Richmond,VA 23235hammela@me.com
VBODA PresidentDavid Webb
VAMEA PresidentKatrina Chaney

 Section Presidents and Ex-Officio

Position Name Email Address
VCDA - President (choral) Dana VanSlyke


dhvanslyke@fcps.edu

VAMHE - President (higher education) Sandy Goldie
sandygoldie1@gmail.com


VEMEA - President (elementary) Kimberly Upshaw
kupshaw@spotsylvania.k12.va.us


VBODA - President (band & orch) David Webb
dwebb@bedford.k12.va.us


VBODA - Orchestra Rep Carrie Finnegan cfinnegan@k12albemarle.org
Collegiate VMEA Nickole Kennedy nkennedy16@su.edu
VAMEA - President (administrators) Katrina Chaney
kdchaney@fcps.edu


NOTES - Editor & Business Manager (Journal) Merry Beth Hall vmeanotesed@gmail.com
Collegiate Advisor
Jennifer McDonel

jmcdonel2@radford.edu

Dept of Education -Specialist of Fine Arts Kelly Bisogno kelly.bisogno@doe.virginia.gov 
Music Edcation Council Christie-Jo Adams   
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council Ashley Cuthbertson a.cuthbertson14@gmail.com 
Government Relations Steve King
Christian Peabody
Nicholas Snead

seking42@verizon.net

puritan1987@gmail.com

nicholas.snead@powhatan.k12.va.us



Tri-M Chair Jonathan Schoepflin jonathan_schoepflin@ccpsnet.net
MIOSM Chair Anna Moore
Marie Weber

moore.anna.04@gmail.com
marie.weber@pps.k12.va.us
 
Conference Exhibits Jim Stegner vmeaexhibits@gmail.com
Attorney Bret Zwerdling  
VHSL Executive Director Kenneth Tilley  
Creativity Chair Vacant  
Membership Chair

Lisette
Satterwhite
lisette.armstrong14@gmail.com

Guitar Council  Kevin Vigil  kevin.vigil@lcps.org
Secondary General Music Chair Glenn McCarthy glenmccarthy@aol.com
Historian Jack Elgin bandjock76@aol.com
Media Chair Drew Ross itsdrewross@gmail.com

District Chairs

Title Last First Email
1 Issemann Jessica jlisemann@henrico.k12.va.us
2 Pinto Corbin corbin.pinto@vbschools.com
3 Toneika Stephens   toneika_stephens@ccpsnet.net
4 Cox Crystal crystal.cox@cpschools.com
5 Wesley  Dunlap wdunlap@rockingham.k12.va.us
6 Schmitt Nicole nschmitt@rcps.info
7 Logan Childress loganc@wcs.k12.va.us
8 Higginbotham Brett brett.higginbotham@poquoson.k12.va.us
9 Joel Shapiro shapirja@pwcs.edu
10 Witkowski Joe jpwitkowski1@fcps.edu
11 Brandt Dustin dtbrandt@fcps.edu
12 James McNamera jhmcnamera@fcps.edu
13 Morris
Hopkins
Jennifer
Jelita
jmorris@k12albemarle.org
hopkinsjd@lcps.k12.va.us
14 Laura Filppu filppu@wps.k12.va.us
15 Eddie Steenstra steenstraem@staffordschools.net
16 Cristin Cini cristin.cini@lcps.org

Active Past Presidents on the Executive Board

Name Address Email Address
Michael Ehrlich 10088 Daniels Run Way, Fairfax  22030 vmeaperf@gmail.com
Jack Elgin 1104 Ashley Drive, Chesapeake  22320 bandjock76@aol.com
Linda Gammon 24759 Carbonate Terrace
Stone Ridge   20105
ljgam13@verizon.net
Terry Hall   thall@tcpsva.org
Steve King 5250 Keffer Road, Catawba  24070 seking42@verizon.net
     
Diana Love 73 Quail Rd, Morgantown, WV 26508 dblove22@gmail.com
Curtis Nolley 237 Divot Dr.,  Harrisonburg 22802 carnolley@hotmail.com
Dan Schoemmell PO Box 62, Basye  22810 Schoemmell1@Yahoo.com
Charlotte Smith 465 Chinquapin Trail, Christiansburg 24073 music@blacksburgbaptist.org
     

Council of Review

Title Last Name First Name
Email

01-Instrumental Rep - Chair Isemann Jessica jlisemann@henrico.k12.va.us
01-Choral Rep  Miller Clint cfmiller1@henrico.k12.va.us
01-Elementary Rep Redmond Iris iredmond@wpschools.net
02-Choral Rep - Chair Pinto Corbin corbin.pinto@vbschools.com
02-Elementary Rep Larson Corey clarson@nps.k12.va.us
02-Instrumental Rep  Duggan Jonathan jonathan.duggan@vbschools.com
03-Elementary Rep Hill Carol
 
03-Instrumental Rep  Fens
Chrisotpher


christopher_fens@ccpsnet.net


03-Choral Rep - Chair Stephens Toneika toneika_stephens@ccpsnet.net
04-Choral Rep  Putnam Paul pputnam@iwcs.k12.va.us
04-Elementary Rep Weber Marie
04-Instrumental Rep - Chair Cox Crystal crystal.cox@cpschools.com
05-Choral Rep - Chair Dunlap Wesley wdunlap@rockingham.k12.va.us
05-Elementary Rep Clemens Angela aclemens@rockingham.k12.va.us
05-Instrumental Rep Flake Candice flake.cm@augusta.k12.va.us
06-Choral Rep Goad Darren dgoad@rcps.info
06-Elementary Rep Castro Stefan scastro@rcps.us
06-Instrumental Rep  - Chair Hand Michael michaelhand@mcps.org
07-Elementary Rep Hines Andrea andrea.hines@lee.k12.va.us
07-Choral Rep Belcher Cari
cari.belcher@lee.k12.va.us

07-Instrumental Rep - Chair Childress Logan loganc@wcs.k12.va.us
08-Elementary Rep
Ellis
Dionne
08-Choral Rep Sherman Dara dara.sherman@poquoson.k12.va.us
08-Instrumental Rep - Chair Higginbotham  Brett
brett.higginbotham@poquoson.k12.va.us


09-Elementary Rep Reagan Shelly 
09-Choral Rep - Chair Shapiro Joel shapirja@pwcs.edu
09-Instrumental Rep Britcher Michael
britchma@pwcs.edu


10-Choral Rep Cooper Anna
ahcooper@fcps.edu

10-Elementary Rep Davis
Jihanna 
10-Instrumental Rep - Chair Witkowski Joe jpwitkowski1@fcps.edu
11-Choral Rep - Chair Brandt Dustin dtbrandt@fcps.edu
11-Elementary Rep
Corcelius
- Janette
11-Instrumental Rep Luley Michael mcluley@fcps.edu
12-Elementary Rep
Martin
Zach
12-Choral Rep - Chair McNamara James jhmcnamara@fcps.edu
12-Instrumental Rep Weise Chris cmweise@fcps.edu
13-Choral Rep - Chair Nichols Willaim
wnichols@stab.org

13-Elementary Rep
Smith     
 Rachel   rsmith2@k12albemarle.org
13-Instrumental Rep Doss Tommy tdoss@ocss-va.org

14-Instrumental Rep - Chair Filppu Laura filppu@wps.k12.va.us
14-Choral Rep Cooper Rebecca rhcooper@shenandoah.k12.va.us
14-Elementary Rep Shoremount Sarah sashoremount@shenandoah.k12.va.us
15-Elementary Rep Peabody Christian peabodycp@staffordschools.net
15-Choral Rep Acors Val vacors@spotsylvania.k12.va.us
15-Instrumental Rep - Chair Steenstra Eddie steenstraem@staffordschools.net
16-Choral Rep - Chair Cini Cristin cristin.cini@lcps.org
16-Elementary Rep Hoey Holly holly.hoey@lcps.org
16-Instrumental Rep  Hermann George herbert.hermann@lcps.org

Past Presidents

Year Name Year Name
1944-1946 Sena Wood 1978-1980 John Savage
1946-1948 Sharon Hoose 1980-1982 Harriet Heath
1948-1950 Wendell Sanderson 1982-1984 David Solomon
1950-1952 Raymond Reed 1984-1986 Daniel Schoemmell
1952-1954 Gene Morlan 1986-1988 Betty Tabor
1954-1956 Sidney Berg 1988-1990 Charlotte Collins
1956-1957 Luroy Krumwiede 1990-1992 Robert Stamback
1957-1958 Leo Imperial 1992-1994 Stephen E. King
1958-1960 William Troxell 1994-1996 Diana B. Love
1960-1962 Bernard Busse 1996-1998 Davidson Burgess
1962-1964 Catherine Dycus 1998-2000 Scott Lambert
1964-1966 Alton Howell 2000-2002 Terry Austin
1966-1968 Paul Sanger 2002-2004 Linda Gammon
1968-1970 Donald Tennant 2004-2006 Charlotte Smith
1970-1972 Ruth Pace 2006-2008 Curtis Nolley
1972-1974 James Simmons 2008-2010 Michael Ehrlich
1974-1976 Dorris Hutton 2010-2012 Jack Elgin
1976-1978 Sidney Swiggett 2012-2014 Lois Castonguay
1974-1976 Dorris Hutton 2014-2016 Terry Hall
    2016-18 John Brewington
    2018-2020 Allen Hall 

Contact Information

Requests for VMEA information should be addressed to the State Executive. All postings to this site must be made through your section president. Any problems with the website need to be addressed to the webmaster. 

© Copyright VMEA 2021. All Right Reserved

Search